Skip Navigation

Riverbanks Society

Riverbanks Society is the private, chartered 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization supporting the needs of Riverbanks Zoo and Garden. Established in 1976 by a group of concerned citizens, the Society started out with a base of 200 members and has grown far beyond expectations with more than 40,000 member households representing over 200,000 individuals, making it one of the largest nonprofit zoo societies per capita in the United States.

The Society is governed by an up to 21-member Board of Directors. Board members are elected to three-year terms through a formal nominating process. It is the sole responsibility of Riverbanks Society to promote the membership program and serve as the fundraising arm of Riverbanks Zoo and Garden.

Current Riverbanks Society Board Members

Executive Committee

J. Stuart Moore, President
Tristan K. Weinkle, DVM, DACVIM, Vice President
Stephanie Jones, Treasurer/Secretary
Susan S. Keenan, Immediate Past President

Board Members

A. Mattison Bogan
Sharon W. Bryant           
Patti Embry-Tautenhan
Deans R. Fawcett
Cecilia Fournil
James Herlong
Denise Gunter Hudson
Sarah Kirby
Shelby Kay Leonardi
Sarah Bovaird Locke
Donna Longo
Lindsey Miles
Andrew Reed
Richard Slater
Sheila M. Willis

Financial Statements