Little Learners at Riverbanks

For our smallest naturalists, we offer a variety of creative, open-ended, exploratory programs for children ages 3 to 5 and their caregivers.

Scheduled Programs

Kangaroos and Wallabies

Come hop about with us and learn how to tell the difference between a wallaby and a kangaroo!

Friday, October 7 / Saturday, October 8 / Friday, October 21

10:30–11:30am

Opposites in October

Explore opposites using examples from animals and the natural world around us!

Friday, October 14 / Saturday, October 15

10:30–11:30am

Skeletons

Help us piece together the parts of the body and compare different types of skeletons!

Friday, October 28 / Saturday, October 29

10:30–11:30am

Flightless Feathered Friends

Join us in our investigation of the unique birds that stay on land or in the water!

Friday, November 4 / Saturday, November 5 / Friday, November 11

10:30–11:30am

Hooray for the Harvest

Celebrate with us and learn about seasonal produce though art, activities, and time in our garden.

Friday, November 18 / Saturday, November 19

10:30–11:30am

River Otters

Dive into our class where we learn all about otters and their special features!

Friday, December 2 / Saturday, December 3

10:30–11:30am

Snowflakes

Discover the distinctive characteristics of snowflakes and the wonders of winter!

Friday, December 16 / Saturday, December 17

10:30–11:30am

Program Details

Cost :
$10 per child.
Location :
Waterfall Junction Learning Center in the Botanical Garden.
Note :
Classes are for children ages 3 to 5 with an adult.

Cancellation Policy

Cancellation or date change requests must be received ten days in advance of the event. Requests must be submitted in writing at education@riverbanks.org. Riverbanks Zoo and Garden will retain a $2 processing fee for cancellations and charge a $2 processing fee for date changes.

In the rare event that Riverbanks Zoo and Garden must cancel the scheduled event, all deposits or money received will be reimbursed or an option to reschedule will be provided. Notification of cancellation will be provided at least ten days prior to the scheduled event (unless weather-related). Riverbanks Zoo and Garden is not liable for any other expenses that the guest may have incurred in the preparation and execution of the event.

Refunds will not be provided for individuals who do not show up for the event.

Questions about Little Learners at Riverbanks?

Please call 803.602.0803 or email us.